Our History

Tartans Hockey Club was established in the 1960s as a breakaway club from Athletes.  Athletes Hockey Club was a club created by a local athletics coach to keep his “girls” fit over winter. The break came following a disagreement over player participation in a finals game.  Rumour has it that the athletics coach did not want his athletes playing in the hockey grand final as they had an athletics competition the following week and he did not want any injuries.  The serious hockey players including Pat Wade and Sandra Fenton rebelled at this approach and Tartans Hockey Club was formed.

The club won our first senior premiership in Women’s third grade in 1965. This was followed by premierships in both first grade and second grade in 1967 and then a run of 5 first grade premierships from 1969 – 1973.  In all the club has won 10 first grade premierships (up to 2017) with 6 second grade premierships, 7 third grade premierships (including premierships in 2015 and 2016 in the Moorebank competition) and 1 fourth grade premiership.

The club first entered junior teams in the 1977 season.  The first junior team was a group of girls pulled together by Cynthia Hestelow. She approached the Sutherland Shire Women’s Hockey Association to find a club without junior teams that her group of local girls could affiliate with.  That first team won the junior fourth grade competition in 1977.  They went on to win junior third grade in 1978 and 1979, were runners  up in second grade in 1980, won junior first grade in 1981 and 1982 and in 1982 also won senior second grade.

With junior first grade premierships in 2016 and 2017, the club has now won 10 first grade junior competitions, 5 second grade junior competitions, 9 third grade junior competitions and 6 fourth grade junior competitions.   We have also won 7 modified hockey competitions including our most recent win in the Under 11 Kookaburra 8s modified format in 2017.

The club has always had a strong presence in representative teams.  In the early days players represented the Sutherland Shire Women’s Hockey Association as well as Sydney ( a Sydney team selected from players participating in all women’s competitions run in Sydney) and NSW.

The early junior players represented the Sutherland Shire Women’s Hockey Association as well as St George Region (schools), Metropolitan East (schools), Zone 8, Sydney East Region (schools), City and NSW.  Later players have represented Sutherland Shire Hockey Association, Sydney South Hockey Association, Sydney East and McKillop (schools) and New South Wales.  Our latest higher level representatives are Zoe Newman (NSW Under 18 and Under 21 representative as well as an Australian schoolgirls representative) and Harry Roberts (our u13 coach in 2017, selected to represent NSW at u16 schools and selected to the HNSW Under 18 Blues team in 2018 as well as the HNSW AAP Program) .

Cynthia Hestelow with one of our second season junior teams

Cynthia Hestelow with one of our second season junior teams



Comments are closed.

Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.